Dolly Parton will be inducted into the East Tennessee Writers Hall Of Fame sponsored by Friends of Literacy.

On Friday, September 20, sixteen prominent writers will be inducted into the East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame. This year’s awards gala will be at the Historic Southern Railway Station. Friends of Literacy has sponsored the East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame for 16 years and is proud to honor the significant contributions of local writers to the culture and history of the region.

Inductees include Michael Lofaro (Lifetime Achievement), Elizabeth Genovise (Fiction), Kim Trevathan (Nonfiction), Rhea Carmon (Poetry), Paul Harrill (Screenwriting), Jamie Satterfield (Journalism), Alan Sherrod (Social Media), and Karen E. Reynolds (Songwriting). Accepting their awards by video will be Rick Yancey (Young Adult Literature) and Dolly Parton (Outstanding Contribution to East Tennessee Culture and Literacy).

Additionally, six East Tennessee writers are being inducted posthumously: Kim Williams (Songwriting), Rikki Hall (Journalism), Anne Wetzell Armstrong (Fiction), Sarah Booth Conroy (Nonfiction), Bert Vincent (Nonfiction), and George Washington Harris (Lifetime Achievement). The evening will also include a presentation by a Friends of Literacy student.

Event Sponsors

Sponsors for this year’s event include 21st Mortgage Corporation, WNOX Radio, Knoxville News Sentinel, Pilot Flying J, KPMG, LHP Capital, and Herron-Connell Insurance.

Purchase Tickets

Tickets go on sale August 1. Individual tickets are $100 each and include dinner and cash bar. Tables are $1,000 each and include a VIP meet and greet with the writers. Tickets may be purchased online at or, or by phone at 865-549-7007.

About Friends Of Literacy

Friends of Literacy is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to improve adult literacy and education in East Tennessee. Proceeds from the gala support those programs.


[su_youtube url="" height="1600"]



All Things Dolly
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.