‘The Great Pretender’

Published February 5, 1984 / Last Updated August 23, 2015
Team Dolly is a collaboration of writers, editors, and publishers assembled by Dolly Parton Productions. Each member is dedicated to accurately publishing the latest news and historical archives of the living legend that is Dolly Rebecca Parton.

Managing Editor - Jacob Timmons
Creative Director - Sarah Chapman
Team Dolly

Dolly releases 26th solo album, ‘The Great Pretender’

Released in February 1984, “The Great Pretender” is Dolly’s 26th solo studio album and features a selection of popular cover songs from the 1950s and 60s.

The album was Dolly’s first to be issued on the new compact disc format at the time.

Track listing:

  1. “Save the Last Dance for Me”
  2. “I Walk the Line”
  3. “Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season)”
  4. “Downtown”
  5. “We Had it All”
  6. “She Don’t Love You Like I Love You”
  7. “We’ll Sing in the Sunshine”
  8. “I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)”
  9. “Elusive Butterfly”
  10. “The Great Pretender”

“The Great Pretender” peaked at No. 7 on the U.S. Country Music Albums Charts and No. 73 on the U.S. Top 200 Albums Charts.

Team Dolly‘The Great Pretender’